My Goals, Challenges and Expectations for Language VI

A new chapter begins, new adventures and new challenges, who knows what will happen this new semester. As always, my teachers of English ask me and my classmates to post our Goals, Challenges, and Expectations for English Language VI, but before I write about it, I want to reflect a little bit of my last post which was My Language 5 Self-assessment 2022. Therefore, when I was reading My Language 5 Self-assessment 2022, I realized I could not complete most of my goals, challenges, and expectations for the last semester. Although I was not able to complete them, I know that this semester will be different.

My goal for this semester is not a study goal as such. However, this does not mean that it will not help me, on the contrary, this goal will be greatly beneficial not only with my studies but also with my daily life. The goal I have for this sixth semester is to find time to relax. Although I practice yoga and meditate to be in a Zen mood, I think it is not enough to be relaxed because after I do yoga or meditation, I study or do my homework they make me stress out. So, in order to be relax, what I need to do is to take a day off, I mean a complete day. For example, I am a stressful person. I care too much for my studies and grades, but that is not good for my mental health. That is why I need to take a complete day only for myself. Last year I tried it, and the result was excellent, because not only I felt great but also my mind could retain more what I was taught during the semester.

As I wrote in My Language 5 Self-assessment 2022, my challenge is to reach B2 level. According to the video CEFR and Language Assessment (2017) when someone reaches to the B2 the person should be able to understand the main idea of difficult texts and he or she can talk fluently with a native speaker. That is why I want to achieve it in this semester, I want to speak English fluently and to understand types of texts that I am not used to read.

My expectation for this semester is to pass English Language VI with good grades. From my point of view my grades this semester will be representing my effort, how much I have improved and my knowledge. I do not want to be the first one of the class because if I become that kind of person, I will stress out myself and that is not the idea. Furthermore, if I get a bad mark, I will not be upset since I know I will do it much better next time.

To finish this post, I would like to show you this picture as it is the way I imagine myself when I am meditating. This practice has helped me not to get stressed with my studies as well as helping me to see my life in a positive way.

Reference:

British Council Aptis Official (09 March 2017). CEFR and Language Assessment [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KquYBc11FP0

One thought on “My Goals, Challenges and Expectations for Language VI

  1. Dear Fernanda,
    You did follow the instructions. Your writing is well structured and easy to follow. You certainly conveyed meaning and put your message accross.
    Having a day off on a weekly basis is a very good idea along with the yoga practice. I am sure that you will do fine. I will also see to helping you in any way possible.
    Cheers!
    Prof. Edgardo Aragú

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *